I’ve Been Memed…..

1. Hot chocolate or egg nog? Hard to choose. I like them both a lot, but I think I’d prefer egg nog, with the rum.

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree? Duh– every body knows Mrs. Claus dons her red dominatrix dress & cracks the whip on those little elves. Very naughty!

3. Colored lights on house/tree or white? Well, we have white ones on our tree, but it’s pre-lit, so we took what we could get at that time. I don’t have lights on the house, but I like all kinds no matter the color.

4. Do you hang Mistletoe? No. But I already get lots of kisses.

5. When do you put your decorations up? Generally at the start of December, but sometimes after Thanksgiving.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish? Even harder than #1. I’d have to say homemade cranberry relish.

7. Favorite holiday memory?  Spending my first Christmas in my own home after I was married.

8. When & how did you learn the truth about Santa?  I don’t actually remember, except that I was very young because we always found out where the presents were hidden.

9. Did you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Yes.  In fact, as everyone got older, it became more of a tradition to open gifts after the late church service. By then it was after midnight so technically it was on Christmas Day.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas tree? Pretty much by the book: lights first, garland, ornaments, tinsel, then the skirt.

11. Snow:  love it or dread it? Love a little of it, dread lots of it.  I don’t like being couped up.

12. Can you ice skate? Yes, & very well.  Oh I’m no Peggy Fleming, but I grew up skating on outdoor rinks & frozen ponds/lakes. Now we have two indoor rinks in my area.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? Yes. My first bicycle (sappy,  I know).  It was a great bike. Rode it for years–no training wheels either.  I already knew how to ride from practicing on my brothers’ throw-aways.

14. What is the most important thing?  About Christmas? Probably the spirit of giving. I love giving to those who expect nothing & want for nothing.  They’re usually the most appreciative.  Going to church & counting my blessings, not my worries.

15. What is your favorite holiday dessert?  Any kind of pie-except mincemeat–never did like its taste.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition? Giving money cards to all the little children in my family, specifically $5 bills.  It’s what my Grandmother always gave the grandkids & great-grandkids, regardless of their age.  The cards were always placed in the tree & that’s where they’ll always find them.

17. What tops your tree? A big white star.

18. Which do you prefer, giving or receiving?  Answered that one!

19. What is your favorite Christmas song? Anything from Handel’s Messiah. I like O, Holy Night also.  There’s really quite a lot that I like.

20. Candy canes: yuck or yum? Mostly yum!  I’ve grown quite fond of the Hershey’s chocolate mint ones, but as long as the flavor isn’t too funky, they’re all good.

2 Comments

  1. Posted December 24, 2008 at 1:20 am | Permalink

    Hi there MottsA! Thanks for playing! I think you are the only one. Sometimes people play and sometimes they don’t. I usually try to… but have missed a few.

    Mice meat… don’t think I have ever had that. ?

    I enjoyed reading your meme. 🙂

  2. Posted December 24, 2008 at 1:45 am | Permalink

    It’s called mincemeat. It’s a mixture of minced apples, raisins, spices & God knows what else. Trust me. It’s an aquired taste.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

